Glass half full

I’ve been compiling a list of diseases I don’t have.  Yet.

Leprosy     Legionnaire’s Disease    Bubonic Plague    TB    Malaria     Diabetes     Bird Flu     Asthma     Ebola     Dengue fever 

I expect there are one or two more which might come to mind.  So that’s all right then.  Fit and healthy, I’d say.  Except that they’ve just told me that I can now add osteoporosis to my list of ailments.  Osteoporosis??  That’s something that old ladies get. Ok, I’m old(ish), as my darling sons constantly remind me – but I’m not that old.

So much for all that running I’ve been doing for the last few years.  And the extra milk I’ve been drinking.  Not enough – it’s going to be medication for life now. And not just any medication.  This is extra complicated, have to think about it carefully medication.  It’s a tablet once a week (not so bad, really) that has to be taken on an empty stomach (first thing in the morning, then) with a big glass of water (not too tricky) to be followed by no food or drink and remaining upright for the next 30 minutes (so no sloping off back to bed).  Did you get all that?  I had my first go this morning and it wasn’t too bad.

I’m cross.  I no longer understand the meaning of “healthy”.  If asked, I’d say I was rarely ill, so long as you don’t count cancer.  And I suppose it’s better to know these things before I go breaking bones, but I’m quite short enough already, thank you.  I have no need for my stature to become any more diminutive.  Mind you, there’s probably an algorithm out there to calculate the rate of height loss I can expect and at what point I’ll disappear to nothing.  (We’ve just been watching Benjamin Button, by the way – Slumdog was much better.)

Still, I don’t have Yellow fever, Typhoid,  Cholera, Polio or a zillion other things.

So I guess that’s alright then.

5 thoughts on “Glass half full

  1. Oh, commiserations. I’m sorry to hear about this. You’re so great, the way you go for the half full approach all the time.

    And about that, we once put a half-filled glass of water in front of our eldest, and asked him if he thought it was half full or half empty – he was young enough that he didn’t know the phrase. He looked at it, and thought about it, and said “well, it’s not even half full, is it? Look, that’s a real swizz if you’re saying it’s half full.” Indeed we had carelessly filled it about a third full. Is there an approach to life which is the hard done by “not even half full” approach?

  2. Sorry to hear that. On the glas-half-full side, it’s good that you know about it, and that it’s treatable. Hopefully you will become such an expert at the medication ritual that it doesn’t intrude.

    I don’t want to belittle your news, but my mother-in-law this week found that a very persistent breathing difficulty and cough on extertion that she’s had for months just can’t be treated, so she’s now figuring out how to live with it. There’s still a lot we have to learn.

    I long ago decided, though, that given (a) people now live much longer, and (b) these same people seem to be keeping the pharmaceutical industry in business, that pill-popping is something that comes with the territory of old age and I’d better get used to the idea. That and false teeth (2 and counting), body repairs (1 hernia to date) and glasses (now on to bi-focals). Unless maybe if you repair or replace enough bits there wouldn’t be enough left to be worth medicating?

  3. Hmmmm….. sometimes life can be very unkind however knowing the person you are I’m sure it wont stop you. Hopefully all that sport has strengthened things?

  4. Iota, your son clearly has a future as a realist. Perhaps he should become a banker. 🙄

    Hi David! Sorry to hear about your mum. This was just a get-it-off-my-chest whinge, as I was expecting the news. It’s a side effect of coeliac disease – I had just hoped I could put it off a few years longer. Your comment reminded me of the Grandfather’s Axe scenario. “I’ve still got my Grandfather’s original axe. Yes, it’s had the head replaced a couple of times and 3 new handles but it’s still his axe. Best one I’ve ever used.” And indeed, without modern medicine and the pharmaceutical industry I would have died several times over by now! 😀

    Lynne, I guess I just need to keep on running. 🙂

Leave a Reply

